Thriller that’s actually THRILLING: In the Blood by Lisa Unger

In the Blood

4 of 5 stars

I received a pre-release copy of this book for free from the publisher via NetGalley. This is the first I have read by Lisa Unger, but do not worry I will be reading more.

In the Blood is about Lana Granger, a deep deep character who reveals herself, the good and the bad, gradually throughout the book and keeps you wanting more. The book begins with her as a child hiding under her bed after coming home to find her mom dead and her dad making her help him bury her. From there, the story skips to the present. Lana is in college and very close to her mentor/adviser who encourages her to find a job, specifically one working with Luke Kahn, a very messed up somewhat psycopathic little boy. Then her roommate goes missing and Luke asks her to play a scavenger hunt with him… hmm. The roller coaster of who exactly is involved and who is playing who in the psychopathic cat and mouse game never slows down from there.

I really really liked this book. I knew there was a twist so I was making up all sorts of stories in my head the entire time and couldn’t put it down. I still ended up not guessing the actual twist. Lisa Unger so gradually unveils the whole truth in such a perfect way. There were moments where my heart was pounding… this was actually the feeling I was hoping to get when I reading Red Dragon that I knew existed somewhere out there.

I admit I don’t read many thrillers, but this was a very well written majorly suspenseful psychological thriller. I especially loved Lana’s character development and questioning of her own behavior and the weaving together of everyone else in her life in a very unique way.

Advertisements

2 thoughts on “Thriller that’s actually THRILLING: In the Blood by Lisa Unger

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s