2013 Top Five Countdown #5: What Alice Forgot

After much contemplation, I think I’m finally ready to write about my top 5 books from 2013. I picked my favorite five books that I read in 2013 (not necessarily published in 2013) and will post one review per week until we get to the top.

My number five pick is What Alice Forgot by Liane Moriarty. It ranks up there because of the emotion that it was able to draw from me. I really connected with Alice and her sister and was sucked into the story from the very beginning.

12377535

4 of 5 stars

My review written in September 2013:

What Alice Forgot is an outstanding story about a woman who wakes up to find that she no longer recognizes herself, not even a little bit. She finds out that her husband hates her, she is mean to her children, and she isn’t even friends with her sister. Out of all the books I have read in the past couple of months, this one ranks up there with the most outstanding character development… for everyone, not just Alice.

I loved the ending, I’m talking love love love. It boosted my rating to 4 stars instead of 3. It kept you guessing until the very end to what Alice would choose, and what would happen with Libby’s situation, even tricked you throughout the book… I literally did a happy dance when you find out who the one she woke up next to in the last chapter was. I love how the book shows the struggles that there are in marriage. Depending on your point of view, the ending was pleasantly happy, but I didn’t feel it was cheesy at all.

The only complaint that I have about the story is that it seemed to drag out in some chapters, although not bad. It could have been just as great if it was shorter, though.

Overall, I loved this book. It left me with a satisfied joy that life can turn out the way you choose, and that it’s never too late to change who you are. It really made me examine my life… If I woke up tomorrow and didn’t remember the last 10 years of my life would I recognize myself, and would I actually like myself? Not a bad thing to ask yourself every now and then.

Looking back, I still remember all the feels from this book and the richness of the characters. I will definitely be buying a copy for my comfort bookshelf and reading it again soon.

Stay tuned for #4 next week…

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s