2013 Top Five Countdown #3: Garden Spells by Sarah Addison Allen

After much contemplation, I picked my favorite five books that I read in 2013 (not necessarily published in 2013) and will post one review per week until we get to the top. So far, I have posted…

And… my number three book is… Garden Spells by Sarah Addison Allen. I picked it because of it’s beautiful character development and perfect use of every day magic.

2599653

5 of 5 stars!

My original review:

This was the perfect book to read after my last book left me in a sad slump. It was amazing – the perfect amount of magical realism mixed with southern town drama mixed with love stories mixed with family – leaving me happy and hopeful.

The story centers around the Waverley family – Claire and Sydney, two estranged sisters, each with their own secrets and past. My favorite character was their great aunt/cousin Evanelle (great name!) who is the perfect quirky old lady that is compelled to give gifts to everyone… out of her Waverley magic. The Waverley house has an apple tree with a ton of personality, and a garden that grows magic. I love magic! I wholeheartedly believe in fate and magical every day happenings… which is probably why I love this book so much.

There’s also a bit of southern small-town drama that has stuck around for several generations, but not overdone. And the guys that are the side plot and come to love the Waverley women in their own special way are perfectly written into the story without taking over the main theme of Claire and Sydney reuniting.

This story is a treat. I love a book that really makes you reflect on your own life through the different characters, and this one definitely did that. The ending was perfect and left you with a satisfied hopefulness, especially for Bay, Sydney’s little girl that has a magic all her own.

I would say this book made up 100 percent for the fact that I did not like The Girl Who Chased the Moon. Sarah Addison Allen is a great story teller, and I now count her among my favorites.

In hindsight:

Garden Spells still stands out to me because it really got me into the magical realism genre. I have read several since because they still have the romance element but offer more than your typical chick lit for when you are in the mood for a light but non cheesy read. I’ve also read other books by Sarah Addison Allen, and Garden Spells, in my opinion, is by far her best.

Advertisements

7 thoughts on “2013 Top Five Countdown #3: Garden Spells by Sarah Addison Allen

  1. So many either cite this or Sugar Queen as their favorite Allen. My book club just read The Girl Who Chased the Moon which was my first Allen. Garden Spells is on my shelf!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s