Classics Challenge #1: Mary Poppins

I LOVE classics more than the average person. I am the girl who loved most of my forced reading in high school and college and finished them way before I was supposed to (I also loved writing all of my literary analysis papers on them.. I know book nerd extraordinaire- that’s me!!). And for some reason I haven’t read one in way too long. So this year I decided it’s time to get back to business. I miss the depth of characters and plots that you find in classics that is harder to find in newer books. My goal is to read one classic per month.. except I already missed January.. oops.

I decided to start out with Mary Poppins after I watched the movie recently and realized I’d never read the book.

10092689

3 of 5 stars

Mary Poppins is a really fun children’s book. I grew up loving the movie and decided to read the book after I recently watched Mary Poppins again. After reading, I was very impressed with Disney’s ability to capture Mary Poppins’ character – her loftiness but sweet quirk.

The story reads like each chapter is it’s own short story, with each chapter containing a stand alone adventure where some bit of magic with Mary Poppins or due to Mary Poppins occurs. The stories are cleveryly written and provide an alternative to other “fairytale” children’s books.

I wish I had read Mary Poppins as a child. I think I would have been enthralled. But I did not.. and my adult brain appreciates the magic and the wonder of the mystery that is Mary Poppins – she’s very strict but “stumbles into” magic situations quite frequently with the children and won’t quite let anyone really know her – but I do not think I will continue the series. I guess it is just a little too simple for my stupid adult brain.

It’s still wonderfully written and I would recommend for anyone who wants a whimsical walk down memory lane.

On to the next classic… Stay tuned.

Advertisements

2 thoughts on “Classics Challenge #1: Mary Poppins

  1. I did read Mary Poppins as a child, and my memories are hazy — but what I do remember is that having already seen the Disney movie, I just kept thinking the book had gotten it wrong somehow! She’s certainly much crustier and tougher in the book, not Julie Andrews at all! I think I was too young at the time to understand that the movie came from the book, not vice versa! I should probably read it again as an adult, just to see how the experience holds up. 🙂

    • I’ve seen people say that in a lot of reviews that she was much more harsh than the movie version. I could see why this would be the case in a child’s mind.. but I just got the feeling that there’s a lot under her harsh outer attitude and that it wasn’t her true self. I think she loves the magic and loves the children’s reactions but is forced to act in an “acceptable” manner as the nanny.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s