2013 Top Five Countdown #2: The Rosie Project by Graeme Simsion

After much contemplation, I picked my favorite five books that I read in 2013 (not necessarily published in 2013) and will post one review per week until we get to the top. So far, I have posted…

My number two pick is The Rosie Project because of its delightful take on the romantic comedy and its superb characters. I couldn’t put it down.

16181775

5 of 5 stars!!

My original review:

Naturally, the books and research papers described the symptoms of Asperger’s syndrome, and I formed a provisional conclusion that most of these were simply variations in human brain function that had been inappropriately medicalized because they did not fit social norms – constructed social norms – that reflected the most common human configurations rather than the full range.

I was hooked after I read this… Don is researching Asperger’s and comes to the above conclusion. YES!! I am a wholehearted believer that Asperger’s and autism are extremely over-diagnosed simply because a child is different and not considered the social norm… I believe their difference should be celebrated.

Ok.. back to the book.

The Rosie Project is about Don Tillman, professor of genetics at a prestigious university, who is very socially awkward but still actually very charismatic. He starts the Wife Project, and in the middle happens to meet Rosie who breaks every rule he has for his “suitable mate”. Rosie teaches him to give up some of his OCD-ness and learn how to have fun. This story about their adventures is pretty stinking hilarious and just cute.

I read some reviews that said the main character reminded them of Sheldon from Big Bang Theory. It’s true… in the greatest way possible. I also read some reviews that harped on the fact that the book is full of stereotypes, but I felt that it really aimed at breaking the stereotypes that people believe about Asperger’s. They’re just people too.

If you like quirky books and have a slightly nerdy side, or if you just like sweet love stories, then this book is for you. The only negative thing I have to say about the book is that the ending was a little emotionally lacking. I wish it had been expanded on and a tad more emotional – but then again, he does have “Asperger’s” and it still wrapped everything up nicely, so I can’t complain.

Plus, there’s going to be a SEQUEL!!!! I’m sure it will complete the story and hopefully add some emotion to the current ending. I’m going to be waiting on the edge of my seat.

Sidenote: I just found out that Graeme Simsion is also a playwright, which makes complete sense. The Rosie Project would make a great play, if you ask me.

In hindsight:

I realized how much I truly completely loved this book because I think about it all the time, and I freak out and start raving when someone tells me they’re thinking about reading it… Then of course I ask them a million times if they’re done reading it yet. The Rosie Project is such a fresh take on the romantic comedy genre. It’s light but also has an important message and manages not to be cheesy. I definitely think I’ll be reading this one again as a poolside read this summer.

14 thoughts on “2013 Top Five Countdown #2: The Rosie Project by Graeme Simsion

  1. I loved, loved, loved this book! I keep pushing it on people who haven’t read it yet. As you said, it’s a great romantic comedy, but with a great underlying message as well. Definitely one of the best of 2013!

  2. Picked up a copy of The Rosie Project last night, and am now secretly resenting the things I have to do today because I read the first coupla chapters and don’t want to do anything but read this book now. MAN am I ever hooked…and it’s all your fault. 😉 Thanks for the recommendation!!

      • Just saw this on Twitter and had to rush over to let you know (if you didn’t already): Sequel to The Rosie Project, planned for Australian release in September! Woohoooooo!

  3. Pingback: BBR: The Rosie Project, by Graeme Simsion | Buffalo Tracts

  4. Pingback: BBR: The Rosie Project, by Graeme Simsion | The Bibliophilic Buffalo

  5. I agree wholeheartedly! Since I never got around to writing my own review of The Rosie Project, now I can just direct people to yours. 😉 I especially agree about the ending. I was expecting to give this book a rare 5-star rating all the way through, but the very end dropped it to a 4. Too much happened too quickly and was just “summed up” it seemed. Not to give any spoilers, but there was a big event mentioned at the end that, with a character like Don, definitely deserved its own description. I think the book should have ended a touch sooner and saved some of the final events for the sequel. Anyway, enough ranting. Thanks for the great review!

  6. Pingback: How I Got Here: My Life With Books | Carie Juettner

Leave a Reply

