Night Film: Creep on!

10112885

5 of 5 stars

SO MANY FEELS… It took me a few days to process this one.

You know those books where you figure out that the blurb on the back of the book is completely wrong/misleading after you finish? Yeah… that’s one of my biggest pet peeves. It IS possible to actually tell what the book is about on the cover without giving away anything. Case in point: NIGHT FILM – It’s vague. But it’s right. It tells you just enough to make you interested but doesn’t lie to you. Go editor!! Thank you!

You go into Night Film knowing that Ashley Cordova, daughter of a reclusive cult horror film director has died, and journalist Scott McGrath investigates her death based on a vendetta with Stanislas Cordova. And that’s really all you need… it sounds like it might get creepy and it does.

The first couple of nights after I started reading this I had the most deliciously creepy dreams. The plot builds somewhat ominously and slowly to create the perfect mood of curiosity with slight dread. The actual events… sorry I just can’t tell you because you will enjoy the book immensely if you only know what’s on the cover and go read it for yourself.

Don’t be scared of the length. I enjoyed the slow but not too slow building plot. It created a lot of time for character development all around and several climaxes that keep it moving. And a lot of foreboding.

The best thing about this book are all of the case files and reports included. You feel like you are actually watching an old cult horror film yourself – the ones where the newspaper clippings, pictures, etc. spin out and almost slap you in the face. It’s just delicious. (For this reason, I would recommend reading a real live in-person copy of this book.)

There are so many details in the story that I’m sure I could read it again and pick up on even more little nuances (which I will definitely be doing). And this book definitely does not settle for your cookie cutter ending. The whole thing is just perfect in my opinion.

I would recommend this for umm… EVERYONE.. especially if you love a suspenseful mystery that makes you think with a genius madman? thrown in.

Advertisements

9 thoughts on “Night Film: Creep on!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s