Saturday Sidenotes: An intro to a little more of ME

As promised in my Liebster Award post, I am going to start posting some non-review, more personal, but still reader-related, and mostly entertaining stuff. I figure that Saturdays will be a good time to sit down and make some actual time for this.. so we have SATURDAY SIDENOTES! Feel free to join the club and let me know in the comments if you would like.

Right now is a pretty crazy time in my life. My husband and I are being moved by the military from Hawaii to Virginia with only 3 weeks notice. No big deal, right? So we’ve had to accomplish all things moving related:

  • Schedule car shipment, plane tickets, and household goods tickets… through military offices where most waits are at least a couple of hours… and you may or may not have gone to them in the correct order.
  • Fight with Delta about getting our GIANT and EXTRA LARGE kennels complete with dogs to Atlanta on the right plane in the right temperature at the exactly right time.. then call the travel office back and tell them to officially book our tickets… then get a call back from Delta saying our pets can’t be on said flight… then calling travel office to book our flight… THEN.. well you see, it’s a vicious cycle.
  • Clearing post… aka the Army makes you go to a million offices… for me and my husband.
  • Among all the other things that are scrambled in my brain right now.

Needless to say, I haven’t had much time for reading lately. So I was really looking forward to the 10 hours of reading time I would get on the plane. 10 STRAIGHT HOURS!! I even had my books picked out. I was going to take a couple that have been sitting on my shelf for a while that are the kind that require settling in and really concentrating – The Pillars of the Earth and The Fellowship of the Ring. Then, a TRAGEDY – I forgot to pull out my books for the plane ride, and the movers packed them up. (Super fail) Luckily, I have my Kindle for backup. But there are so many possibilities..

So what’s your favorite kind of airplane reading? How do you decide what to read when you have a large chunk of uninhibited reading time?

Monday is the big day!! Lots of flying and reading, so stay tuned!

4 thoughts on “Saturday Sidenotes: An intro to a little more of ME

  1. Good luck for the journey! I have three year old twins so 10 hours of reading is something I can only dream of. I was at the hairdressers yesterday and had 90 glorious minutes, but had forgotten my book (Super Sad True Love Story) so had to start a new one on my phone Kindle app ( The Silent Wife). Planning is everything!

    • Thanks! I actually had time to read a pre-release that is released next week, so I’ll be reviewing it soon! And my Kindle app saves my life all the time when I forget to plan ahead! Glad you got some extra reading time in.

  2. This sounds like quite the process…way to go you for rolling with the punches and congrats on joining many of us back on the continent again. : ) Also, have fun with that plane ride! I personally love plane rides, but I do get antsy reading in planes because half the time others are trying to sleep so I feel bad leaving my light on. That being said, I think it is good to mix it up between long and short books (lest you fall into a state of despair feeling like neither book nor journey will ever end, haha).

  3. Thanks, Jen! It feels great to be back on the continent! I actually only read one book on the plane… I got distracted by Delta’s fancy personal TV screens. But I did watch The Book Thief. I thought it was perhaps the best book to movie adaptation I’ve seen in a long time for a lot of reasons. I’ve been in lazy mode since being on leave, but I plan on joining to blogging world again soon. Hope everything is going well for you.

Leave a Reply

