About

I’m a reader – through and through. I love to read for escape and occasionally to educate myself. I also have lots of thoughts about everything I read.. way too many to keep to myself.

meFavorite Genres: Magical Realism, Memoir (especially about outdoorsy stuff and farming), Classics (especially Dostoyevsky), Historical Fiction, Fantasy, Mystery. You’ll see lots of those, and most likely little of YA, apocalyptic, and raunchy romance.

Favorite Authors: Kristen Heitzmann, Kate Morton, Sarah Addison Allen, Tolkien, Terry Goodkind

Favorite Book of All Time: It changes but… The Hobbit!

I’m 25, married to a Soldier, and live in Hawaii at the moment (yes… it’s overrated). We have our little family of two dogs, River and Banjo. We are very outdoorsy people who love concerts, camping, and kayaking. I believe in every day magic. My husband says I’m still a 5-year-old at heart, so naturally books are my way of escaping to every day adventures. Our life dream is to own a farm and raise animals organically. So that’s why you’ll see a lot of reviews of memoirs about animals and farming.

The other loves of my life: Musicals (especially Wicked), Disney (one day I’ll show you my tattoo), Doctor Who, Chattanooga, pottery, stars, thrift stores

I have been obsessed with reading since I was 5 and my mom handed my Nancy Drew for the first time. I love happy stories with a hint of magic that aren’t overly cheesy. I figured out over the years that the books I’m reading really tend to effect my mood, so I mostly stay away from the sad/depressing books that you see a lot on bestseller lists.

 

My Review Style

1 star: I absolutely 100 percent hated everything about this book… or there was something that completely disgusted me
2 star: I didn’t really like this book, but at least it had a redeeming quality.
3 star: It was alright, but I probably wouldn’t recommend it to anyone or read it again.
4 star: I really liked/loved this book, but it doesn’t quite reach up to the almost perfect category. I would still wholeheartedly recommend this book and read it again one day.
5 star: This book was very close to perfect in my eyes. There was probably something that was close to my heart. And this is a must buy for my permanent library shelf to loan to friends and reread when I’m feeling frustrated with crappy books or when I need a familiar friend. I’m very stingy with my 5 star ratings.

Thanks for stopping by Great Minds Read Alike. Hope you enjoy!

You can also find me on GoodReads.

13 thoughts on “About

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s