Saturday Sidenotes: Wear it Proud

I love to wear my personality on my sleeves. (he he)… thus why I have a Disney sleeve tattoo and why I love all kinds of fangirl shirts, especially those about books that sometimes only your fellow booknerds understand.

And this week I rocked a total of 3 interviews – this never happens to me!! So as a reward to myself and a declaration of hope that I will get the job, today I also spent an ungodly amount of time scouring every corner of the internet for booknerd shirts, dreaming of the day that I can afford to buy one again. So today, I’ve also saved you a heck of a lot of time… here are the ones that I think are the best:

Also, a couple of these websites have all kinds of aweome reader gear. Check out Out of Print, The Reader’s Catalog, and Litographs.

 

L-1054-3T

Little Women from Out of Print

 

untitled (8)

Library Card from Skreened

 

3

Emma from Litographs

 

 

Screenshot (5)

Library Card Stamp from The Reader’s catalog

 

Sorry Boys from Look Human

 

Screenshot (7)

Pin Up Girl from Zazzle

 

8

Having Fun from Skreened

 

Thoreau tank from Amazon

Thoreau tank from Amazon

 

Evolution of Books

Evolution of Books tank from Etsy

 

Saturday Sidenotes: An intro to a little more of ME

As promised in my Liebster Award post, I am going to start posting some non-review, more personal, but still reader-related, and mostly entertaining stuff. I figure that Saturdays will be a good time to sit down and make some actual time for this.. so we have SATURDAY SIDENOTES! Feel free to join the club and let me know in the comments if you would like.

Right now is a pretty crazy time in my life. My husband and I are being moved by the military from Hawaii to Virginia with only 3 weeks notice. No big deal, right? So we’ve had to accomplish all things moving related:

  • Schedule car shipment, plane tickets, and household goods tickets… through military offices where most waits are at least a couple of hours… and you may or may not have gone to them in the correct order.
  • Fight with Delta about getting our GIANT and EXTRA LARGE kennels complete with dogs to Atlanta on the right plane in the right temperature at the exactly right time.. then call the travel office back and tell them to officially book our tickets… then get a call back from Delta saying our pets can’t be on said flight… then calling travel office to book our flight… THEN.. well you see, it’s a vicious cycle.
  • Clearing post… aka the Army makes you go to a million offices… for me and my husband.
  • Among all the other things that are scrambled in my brain right now.

Needless to say, I haven’t had much time for reading lately. So I was really looking forward to the 10 hours of reading time I would get on the plane. 10 STRAIGHT HOURS!! I even had my books picked out. I was going to take a couple that have been sitting on my shelf for a while that are the kind that require settling in and really concentrating – The Pillars of the Earth and The Fellowship of the Ring. Then, a TRAGEDY – I forgot to pull out my books for the plane ride, and the movers packed them up. (Super fail) Luckily, I have my Kindle for backup. But there are so many possibilities..

So what’s your favorite kind of airplane reading? How do you decide what to read when you have a large chunk of uninhibited reading time?

Monday is the big day!! Lots of flying and reading, so stay tuned!